Skip to content

Happy New Year…

December 31, 2012

111

WOW!  Is it New Year’s Eve already? 

I looked back at my past couple of posts (yes, it has been a while Winking smile)  and I realized that I started off in a similar manner…  “The time has flown by…”  “Can you believe summer is already over…” 

I really can not believe how fast 2012 feels to have past.  I was just talking with our family at breakfast and they said the same thing.  The time just feels to move faster and faster the older we get!

2012 has been a great year.  I want to touch on just a few of the highlights from our year. 

1. We changed churches at the end of 2011 and have found a new home in 2012

church

 

The Lord moved us to a new church in December of 2011.  Change isn’t always easy; however, the Lord is gracious and we quickly found a new home.  Not only did the Lord change our church home but the areas of ministry.

We have found our niche in Children’s ministries and we are being grown and stretched through it.  Hubby has started teaching in Children’s church and is AMAZING at it.  He isn’t convinced yet, but I’m telling you that you would think he had been doing it for years!

We have had the opportunity to go out into neighborhoods and do Block Parties.  These are neighborhood outreaches.  The best part is that we are able to take Julie and Captain America with us.  I love how they come home pumped up!

During the summer the kids and I participated in Kids Summit.  It is a week long day camp for kids, very similar to VBS.  We had an amazing time.  I led a group of 10, 11, and 12 year olds.  In the past I have worked with little kids, 4 and under.  So moving to the older kids was a bit uneasy, but so rewarding in the end!  The kids had a great time and I was moved by the kids in my class. 

2. We completed our 2nd year of homeschooling.

IMG_7036     IMG_2094

 

Yep! 2 years of homeschooling.  I would have never imagined in January of 2010 that I would ever homeschool.  Our journey began that August and just keeps getting better and better.  I love being home with our kids each day.  I love seeing our kids grow, change, mature and the best part…  I get to be a part of it all!!! 

3. We started Classical Conversations for the 2012-2013 school year

Layout 1

 

Oh My Goodness…  This has been the most amazing change to our homeschooling.  I am SOLD that Classically training and educating my children is the way for US!  Julie and Captain America are thriving in CC (aka Classical Conversations Smile).  When I went to practicum in July, there were testimonies of how children were making connections during school work and outside of school work to information studied and learned in their CC memory work.  I will not lie, when I heard this I though, “Wow that it amazing, but really will it happen with our children?!?!”

Well, let me tell you it has.  As we read the Bible, watch programs on TV, read books, etc. I often hear, “Mom we know about the Mediterranean Sea,”  “Mom we know about the Great Pyramids.”  The list goes on and on and it is so exciting to see connections being made and the children knowing where the Mediterranean Sea is, where the Red Sea is, etc..

Not only did we sign up for CC, I signed up to be a Tutor.  I really could not imagine doing CC without Tutoring.  For me, it holds me accountable and I like it.  I am learning so much along the way as well!  It really is true when they say you get 2 educations for the price of one!!!  I love being in the trenches learning with my kids.

4.  I am blessed with amazing Sisters that I have made this year

CC Ladies

CC Ladies_2

I have the HONOR of partnering with these amazing ladies each week as we all work together at CC to train and educate our children.  These are not just friends but they have become sisters.  My words are few, because I stand in awe of each and every one of them.  They inspire me to be my best.  Each one encourages and supports the other and it is unbelievable. 

Thank you to each and every one of you.  I love each of you!

5.  Reunion time with my Mom

104

I had the opportunity to meet my mom in Colorado Springs, CO in October of this year.   We had some quality time together.  We attended my Dad’s 50th class reunion at the Air Force Academy.  It is a great time.  I enjoyed meeting my Dad’s classmates and getting to hear stories about my Dad. 

112

It was awfully COLD though.  The day of the football game the high was about 34 degrees.  We sat in snow flurries and bitterly cold winds.  This southern girl is just not cut out for weather like that!

006

These are my Top 5 memories from 2012.  I could post 20 or more, but these are the ones that stick out in the forefront of my mind.  2012 has been amazing.  From change to growth, I am blessed and grateful for it all.

I am looking ahead to 2013 and am excited to see all that the Lord has in store for my family and I.  It is going to be a great year.  I hope to be here a little bit more, but I will wait and see how the Lord leads me!

 

Happy New Year to you and yours!

 

Blessings,

Tirzah, Hubby, Julie and Captain America

One Comment leave one →
  1. gkisling@pacbell.net permalink
    January 2, 2013 2:24 AM

    Hi Tirzah, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Adorable picture of your son. Glad you had some time with your mom – be blessed! Love Ginny Kisling

Leave a Reply

