Skip to content

Dangerous Feelings…

August 16, 2012

anger_danger-8407

Sometimes people do things that hurt.  It may be something that hurts our feelings or it may hit deeper and even make us angry.  We may be compelled to go to the person and talk to them.  Sometimes it may not be the other person but really our selves.  ~Ouch, yeah I know~

Before we do anything, we need to STOP and get with the Lord.  We  need to check the little voices in our head and be sure we are listening to the voice of the Lord.  Remember, it will align with God’s Word.

I recently experienced a situation that started as disappointment.  That disappointment turned into hurt and quickly the hurt turned into anger.  It happened in less than 12 hours and most of those I was sleeping!  When I woke up, I realized I was angry ~and hurt~ and disappointed.  Not a good way to star the day!  I recognized it and immediately realized it needed to be dealt with.  Not with the person, but with the Lord.  Not that it was easy, but it was the best way to handle it.

The Lord was so sweet and delivered a devotion to my inbox with this verse from James 1:19-20, “My dear brothers take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.”

This verse has come up before in my life. (You can read about it here) This time God was dealing with the anger part though… He actually revealed two areas of my life that I was harboring anger.  One I knew and was aware of, the second I didn’t even realize.  Anger is quick to come in and the world will tell you it’s okay to be angry.  That little voice that says…”He/She did this…,” “He/She didn’t think about you…,” “Are you going to let them treat you that way?,” “A real friend doesn’t do that…,” and the list can go on and on and on.  That little voice delivering all of those messages is the enemy.  The enemy is crafty and he will not give up until we take authority over him.  He will keep on and keep on and keep on until we tell him to STOP.

God has given us authority over the enemy.  We have to take it and use it.  Tell the enemy to shut up and flee from  you.  James 4:7 tells us, “Submit yourselves, then, to God.  Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”  We must submit to the Lord first and then take authority over the devil and tell him to flee.  It may take repeating it over and over and over, but it will happen.  Submitting to the Lord and living a righteous life is so much better  than living a life full of bitterness and anger. 

Dear Lord,

I confess my anger and sin to you.  Lord, I submit to you and ask you to take the anger away.  I ask for your peace and joy.  Enemy, I resist you in the name of Jesus and command you to flee from me.  Lord I ask that your Spirit fill me with love and understanding.  I forgive _________. and ask you to help me show unconditional love to them.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aunt Nathelle permalink
    August 16, 2012 10:33 AM

    This spoke to, and is STILL speaking to my heart. I’ve been unable to verbally share the things on my heart, but the Lord gave you the words I need to hear. I’m still struggling….I can’t seem to relinquish the anger, hurt, sadness I feel. But thank you for sharing this…the Lord knows it’s something I needed to hear. Serious prayer needed! 😉

Leave a Reply

