Skip to content

Do Hard Things…

August 14, 2012

Hello to everyone!  Wow, the summer has flown by.  I can not believe we are just a week away from starting school.  I would really like to know where the summer has gone!!  Winking smile  

First, I want to thank each of you for hanging around and waiting for me to get my blogging bug back!  I really needed the time off to focus on the kids, our family, and enjoying the summer break!  I have lots in my mind to share.  The challenge now is to get it all typed up!!  It will come.  I’m working on my schedule for the year and blogging will be a part of it!!! 

This summer we have travelled with Hubby for work, visited friends/family, attended VBS, participated in Practicums, and have been training and preparing for the upcoming school year.  It has been a busy, but very fun and enjoyable summer.

The kids and I are embarking on a new adventure this school year.  One that we are very excited about.  We have enrolled in one of our local Classical Conversations Communities.  We heard about Classical Conversations last year; however, it wasn’t the right time for us to join.  We went to a couple of open houses and Julie especially fell in love with the program.  I am looking forward to this new chapter in our homeschool career.  I am also looking forward to seeing the kids grow in the community. 

I want to share this e-mail that my director, Yvette, shared with us.  It embraces our motto for the year, “Do hard thing until they become easy.”  Learning a new model of education is not the easiest task.  It requires putting off your old self and embracing the new.  Sound familiar?  Much like our Salvation and our need to put off our old self and embrace our new self.   The benefits and rewards are great and worth the sacrifice and effort though. 

This e-mail summed up so much for me, that I just had to share it with you.  Take a minute to read and absorb it. 

__________________________________________________________________________

Do Hard Things

When is the last time you expected a teenager to do something great?

In today’s culture the "teen years" are, at best, "low expectations!" Teenagers seem to be caught in some kind of virtual unreality that often leads them into trouble. In fact, if you Google the word "teen," you’re likely to find categories like: teens and drugs, teens and drinking, teens and rebellion, etc.

In their book, Do Hard Things, teen brothers Alex and Brett Harris contend that the primary culprit for such problems is low expectations. They point out that many teens and adults believe that adolescence is a time to "have fun"–and if we give teenagers anything to do, it’s little more than homework, a few household chores, and the admonition to stay out of trouble. But we rarely give these young people a challenge that pushes them to grow up into responsible adulthood.

The Harris brothers have a completely different perspective. They are challenging their peers to "do hard things"–by stepping out of comfort zones, dreaming big about careers and how to live out their faith, and tackling opportunities that even adults would find daunting.

And the results have been extraordinary. Teens are organizing political campaigns, starting new ministries to fight human trafficking and homelessness, and initiating dialogues with thousands of other teens around the world to do more of the same.


The Apostle Paul wrote: "When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. But when I became a man, I gave up childish ways." William Carey wrote, "Expect great things from God. Attempt great things for God!" Let’s start challenging our teens to live extraordinary lives through the strength of a God who is able to do exceeding abundantly far more than we could ask or think!

Author Unknown

__________________________________________________________________________

I may not have teenagers yet; however, I want to work on equipping my children to “Do Hard Things” and to do them well.  My heart’s desire is that they will “Do Hard Things” no matter the cost.  I don’t just desire this for my children but for myself as well.  We are raising the next generation and we must equip and empower them to stand for what they believe in.  We all have opinions, the question is what are we going to do with them. 

Are you willing to “Do Hard Things?”  Are you willing to stand for what you believe in?  

I want to “Do Hard Things.”  I want to be bold for my faith and my beliefs.  My prayer for each of you is that you will choose to “Do Hard Things” and that you will be bold for your faith and beliefs.  We serve a mighty God who tells us in Deuteronomy 31:6, “Be strong and courageous.  Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.

Go out and “Do Hard Things!”

Blessings,

Tirzah

 

Linking up with:
Photobucket

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2012 8:42 AM

    Sounds like you have had a fun summer. Now it is time to get down to “doing the hard stuff”, but in a fun way!

    • August 14, 2012 2:09 PM

      Yes it is! I’m really looking forward to this year and we had a GREAT first day of school today!!!! Thanks for stopping by Julie!

  2. August 14, 2012 9:30 AM

    Doing HARD THINGS is tough… My daughter (along with the rest of her class) were challenged in her HS girls SS class to do something hard….and what she did required much faith. She learned a valuable lesson through it. She is now stepping up more & more to share her faith and serve the Lord. This may be a nudging to get this book and DO HARD THINGS as a family…. I tell my children all the time … do the right thing… and many times esp in my teenage boy’s life the right thing is not always the popular or easy thing!

    • August 14, 2012 2:11 PM

      Hey Piper! This book is definitely on my list of “To Read”! Thanks for sharing about your daughter. It is encouraging to know that others are “Doing Hard Things” too!

  3. August 14, 2012 6:06 PM

    Glad you’re back, Tirzah! I also hope to be soon. I also just needed the time to spend on good ol’ Summertime, preparing for this schoolyear and a few volunteer opportunities. God bless you in your new home education venture!

    • August 16, 2012 7:19 AM

      Hey Melissa! I am with you and understand 110%. I’m praying for you and you ventures! Thank you for the encouraging words. We (Julie and I!) are really looking forward to our new venture. Captain America will come along, it’s school and he’s a boy, so his enthusiasm is coming along!!!! Blessings to you my friend!

Leave a Reply

