Skip to content

Clean Eating… What is it? Why Eat Clean? How?

June 15, 2012

fruits and vegetables

Clean eating, I’ve mentioned it a couple of times lately but what is it?  Well, it depends on who you talk to.  For me it is eliminating most packaged food from our home and eating real foods.  Yes, this does require a bit more planning and cooking on my part; however, the rewards are worth it.  I have the peace of mind knowing that the food my family is eating is good for them.  I know that they are getting the health benefits from eating foods rich in nutrients and vitamins.  We are becoming healthier and stronger.  As my friend says, we can pay for it now (with healthy foods) or pay for it later by paying doctors to take care of us.  (This doesn’t guarantee that we won’t have any health problems in the future, but it is a way to help prevent illness in our bodies.)

Why the change of lifestyle  you ask?  Well, I’ll be honest it started with the fact that I gained the 20lbs I took off 2 years ago.  I wasn’t happy and my pants were getting way too tight.  The sad thing is that this isn’t what jumped-started my desire.  Another of my friends introduced me to the Eat Clean Diet books by Tosca Reno.  This really got me motivated.  As I was reading Tosca’s books, this verse in 1 Corinthians kept coming to mind:

“Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?  You are not your own; you were bought at a price.  Therefore honor God with your bodies.”                       1 Corinthians 6:19-20

The combination of knowledge and the Word of God really got me fired up.  I have eaten clean before but was not able to stick with it for various reasons.  I am back on track and we are doing good.  With a combination of good food and exercise I am feeling better than I have in 2 years.  I haven’t lost a lot of weight but the inches are melting off and I’ll be honest with you, having my pants fit better (some are even getting too big) is so much more important than a number on a scale.  Always remember that muscle weighs more than fat.  If you are building muscle you may gain a little weight, but that is OK. 

Has this change been easy?  Nope, it is not always easy.  Eating clean is the easy part, but my mind tends to get me held up.  I have come to realize that I have to keep this area of my life surrendered to the Lord.  When I don’t, the enemy comes in and MESSES with my head.  BAD… it isn’t pretty and getting out of it is a fight.  It is a fight definitely worth fighting though.  See, the enemy doesn’t want us taking care of our temple and he doesn’t want us feeling good.  Why?  Because when we feel good and we are healthy we are able to do so much more for the kingdom.

So, where do you start?  I recommend reading up on eating clean and gaining knowledge.  I highly recommend any of the books by Tosca Reno.  Here are just a couple of the books.  I picked mine first up at the library and then bought them from Amazon because they are such great references.

 

The Eat Clean Diet Book

Eat Clean for Family 

(I am not compensated in anyway for providing these links.  I am just providing for reference)

Get busy reading and start making changes that Tosca recommends.   The best place to start is in your pantry.  Go through and get rid of anything that is processed, has ingredients that you can not read, white sugar, soda pop, sugary drinks, etc.  Tosca has a great way of presenting the how-to’s of eating clean.  Unlike other diet plans, this is a How-To plan, not a You Can’t plan. 

I have found a couple of websites that have been incredibly helpful to me as well.  There are meal plans, recipes, suggestions on getting started, healthy substitutions and SO much more. 

Tiffany at The Gracious Pantry

Susan at Fit Family Meals

If you have ever had the desire to get healthy and stay healthy, than this is definitely the plan you are looking for.  There are no quick fixes and no gimmicks.  This is NOT a diet, it is a lifestyle change.  It will make you feel better, give you more energy, and improve your health.  Decide what will work best for you, small changes or jumping in with both feet, and get started today.  

As I can, I will be posting on how we are doing with our lifestyle change.  I am going to try to makeover some of our favorite recipes and I’ll share them with  you as well. 

Blessings to each of you,

Tirzah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2012 8:03 AM

    These are my all time favorite books! I have all of them and have been using them for years! I also sibscribe to The Clean Eating Magazine! It’s phenomenal! I wish everyone would take this approach to eating!

    • June 16, 2012 4:25 PM

      Hi Sarah! Thanks for stopping by. I agree and wish more people would discover clean eating. Thank you for the magazine recommendation. I’ve thought about ordering and will be now knowing it is worth it. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

