Skip to content

Power Packed Pancakes…

May 30, 2012

IMG_7575

I am working really hard to change the way my family and I eat.  This has meant that I find new recipes or change up my old recipes by making healthier substitutions.  One of my first modifications was to our pancakes.  I love some good breakfast food, but I just don’t want it loaded down with empty calories and overly processed ingredients.

When I first made these I did not think the kids would eat them.  They are not as light and fluffy as they are used to.  Actually they are quite thick and dense.  Boy was I surprised.  They both ate 3 pancakes each and then told me they were stuffed.  I was so excited.  I learned that I shouldn’t second guess my children because they will always surprise me! 

These pancakes are full of healthy grains and packed with protein.  I’ve made them twice now and both times the kids ate their fair share!

Power Packed Pancakes

[Wet Ingredients]

1 1/2 cups Almond Milk or Skim Milk

1/2 cup     Liquid Egg

2 Tbsp.     Canola or Olive Oil

1/2 cup     Fat Free Cottage Cheese

1 tsp.         Vanilla or Almond Extract

[Dry Ingredients]

1 1/4 cup   Whole Wheat Flour (I use Whole Wheat Pastry Flour)

3/4 cup     Power Flour (see below for this recipe)

1/4 cup     Wheat Bran

1/4 cup     Ground Flax Seed

1 Tbsp.      Baking Powder

1/4 tsp.     Salt (I use sea salt)

1/4 tsp.     Nutmeg or Cinnamon

2 Tbsp.     Stevia

Directions:

1.  Preheat a non-stick griddle to medium high heat.

2.  Put all wet ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth.

3.  In a large bowl combine all of the dry ingredients

4.  Pour wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.  Using a whisk, mix until well blended. 

5.  Using a 1/4 measuring cup pour batter onto the griddle.  Cook until slightly brown and then flip.  Once browned on the second side remove from griddle. 

**Note** These take a bit longer to cook than traditional pancakes, be patient it is worth the wait!

6.  Serve with fresh fruit on top and Agave Nectar.  For an even healthier version, omit the Agave Nectar and top with about 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. 

For the kids I topped theirs with fresh cut strawberries, a little Agave Nectar and a little bit of fat-free Whipped Cream.  They thought this was the best!  (Yes I’m trying to eat clean and remove most processed foods, but a little encouragement from Whipped Cream doesn’t hurt now and then!)

IMG_7574

 

I found this recipe for Power Flour in Tosca Reno’s Eat Clean Cookbook.  I was unable to find kamut flour at our health food store so I omitted it. 

Power Flour

1/4 cup    Barley Flour

1/4 cup    Brown Rice Flour

1/4 cup    Amaranth Flour

1/4 cup    Spelt Flour

1/4 cup    Kamut Flour

1/4 cup    Whole What Flour (again I used Whole Wheat Pastry Flour)

Mix all ingredients together in an airtight container and store in the refrigerator.

I have used Power Flour in a number of recipes.  Substituting 1/2 of the called for flour with and equal amount of Power Flour.  For example, if the recipe calls for 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour I will use 1/2 cup Whole Wheat Flour and 1/2 cup Power Flour.   In the original pancake recipe it called for 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour.  Since we are omitting white flour from our diet I substituted whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour and used power flour for the original amount of whole wheat flour.  You can adjust your recipes to your liking.  Experiment and find what works best for you.  I do not find that it adds a different flavor to our food either.  It is just full of good nutrients, fiber and protein!

I’m off to do more experimenting!

Have a blessed day,

Tirzah

Linking up with:

Bless a friend by sharing this post with them. Use one of the links below .
{If reading in a reader or via e-mail you will need to click on the title to view the links or comment screen}
Subscribe by e-mail to receive updates in your inbox. Use the link in the upper right hand corner.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

