Skip to content

Changes…

May 29, 2012

Shrek and Donkey

Ch-Ch-Ch Changes…  (You’re probably singing and thinking of Shrek now! Winking smile)  If you have been with me for a while, you are probably wondering what in the world has happened to Momto2Monkeys.  She was posting everyday and she has barely posted anything in a couple of weeks.  Yes, that is the truth.  I posted last week about the season being a little over whelming and having to take some time to wait and pray.

I have done that and I have heard from the Lord.  First let me say I am not going anywhere, I’m still here.  The Lord did reveal to me a few things.  First, my blog was starting to consume me.  I was so worried about how many hits, page views, if there were any comments, yadda yadda yadda.  This is not where the Lord wants me.  When I started this blog, it was out of obedience to Him, not me.  Does it really matter how many hits or page views I have had?  Nope, it really doesn’t. 

The second thing that the Lord showed me was that I have been allowing my blog to take time away from my children and family.  That was enough right there to make me want to stop and shut the whole thing down.  The Lord told me that I don’t have to shut it down, but I have to stop allowing my blog to become a distraction that pulls me away from my calling and purpose in life.  Raising, nurturing, and educating our children. 

The computer (okay, technology) is something that I have struggled with for quite some time.  I know that it is a struggle for many moms.  It is so easy for us to get consumed by the computer, the iPad, the iPhone, or whatever else it may be and neglect our children.  Has your child ever come to you while on one of these devices and asked you for help, asked you for a snack, asked you to play with them?  Have you responded in a manner similar to, “Just a minute, let me just finish what I am doing.”  I have, and unfortunately that minute turns into 30-45 minutes.  Our time with our children is short.  Yep, short is what I said.  Eighteen years is going to fly by and the last thing I want my children to remember was that Mom was always too busy on the computer to help me, play with me, be with me.

So, I have to make some changes.  I have to get my priorities straight and I need to make sure that I am focusing on my children and my family first.  I’ll still be posting but not as often.  My hope is to post 2-3 times per week; however, if that doesn’t happen, I’m okay with that.  God has given me an opportunity to share His love and mercy here on a piece of cyber space.  I want to be obedient to His calling.  I also want to be obedient to the calling He has placed on my life to raise and nurture our children.  I am blessed to be home and I prayed for a very long time to be home with our children.  Now that I am, it is my job and my responsibility and one that I don’t take lightly. 

I pray that you will stay with me and that you will understand the slight changes that I am having to make.  My time with my precious angels is short and I don’t want to miss a minute of it by being consumed by technology or anything else for that matter!

I look forward to sharing my heart with  you and what the Lord places on it.  I also look forward to continuing to share recipes and life stories with you. 

I appreciate each and every one of you and am blessed to have you following along!

Blessings,

Tirzah

 

Bless a friend by sharing this post with them. Use one of the links below .
{If reading in a reader or via e-mail you will need to click on the title to view the links or comment screen}
Subscribe by e-mail to receive updates in your inbox. Use the link in the upper right hand corner.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Nathelle permalink
    May 29, 2012 9:52 AM

    I’m not a busy mom like many of your followers, but I’m a full-time caregiver (wife, chauffeur, organizer, etc.) so I can understand how life overwhelms you at times. I think you do a great job of being a wife, mom, teacher, chef, chauffeur, organizer, blog writer, etc., etc., etc. You wear all your many hats well. ♥♥

  2. benpip permalink
    May 29, 2012 11:25 AM

    I understand completely! I know all too well how quickly children grow up! I have missed way to much as it is, and I don’t want to miss out on anything else!! Thank you for sharing this, I have seen way too many posts recently about media taking over our lives. I was able to stay off my computer for 2 days!! And you know what?? I didn’t miss a thing!!

  3. May 29, 2012 3:04 PM

    Oh girl, I DO understand, and I back you up 100%. And please don’t feel that if you don’t get the comments (and sometimes the page views), it doesn’t mean we aren’t tuning in. Some of us are still working in busy offices, and don’t always have the luxury to let you know we’re here, we’re tuned in, we care, and we’re shouting encouragement with all of our Texas-sized hearts. But I AM here, and always will be 🙂

  4. Bob & Ruth Jamieson permalink
    May 30, 2012 10:28 AM

    Ruth J
    I am so not technical but I can see how it takes over your life. You are an awesome Mom and I love how you are raising your two. Keep up the good work and listening to God.

Leave a Reply

